Hyundai Santa Cruz Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I’ve got the curt 7 way trailer harness to install but I’d love to have a 4 pin always available without an adapter. Suggestions on the best way to go about this? Should I just splice into the 4 wires of the harness? Thanks

·
Registered
2022 Santa Cruz SEL Premium, Blue Stone
24 Posts
I'm getting the 7-pin harness installed also, and here's what I found to handle my 4-pin boat trailer: ($10 on Amazon) and there's others out there too at auto parts retailers.

Bumper Font Automotive exterior Automotive lighting Auto part

·
Registered
2,201 Posts
The adapter is no problem - I've been using one on my Dakota for 20 years. Splicing the wires is actually more risky in the long term.

·
Registered
22 SC Limited • Hampton Gray
301 Posts
rriddell116:
If I were you, I’d mount a 4 pin connector next to the 7 pin and then plug into whichever you wanted. And yes, just splice in to the wires back a little way from the connector. I would use solder and good wiring practices with waterproof heat shrink (marine grade) tubing both on the individual connections and on the overall bundle, and splice it up far enough under the vehicle that it is protected as well as possible from the elements and physical damage. I think even Harbor freight has marine grade heat shrink tubing also. I would not use crimp on splices at all..as they tend to be less reliable over time….hence the suggestion for solder and heat shrink. That’s my opinion.

·
Registered
2022 Santa Cruz SEL Premium, Blue Stone
24 Posts
I’m trying to avoid the adapter. Thank you though
Understood... so since I am probably about to go down this road myself, is this something you would not recommend and could this be problematic? I haven't any experience with trailer adapters for this purpose. I see more expensive options out there also, maybe I should consider something more robust?