Hyundai Santa Cruz Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First. I got my Santa Cruz Limited in Hampton Gray for exactly MSRP ($40,905) at Linwood Hyundai (Linwood Hyundai Paducah | New and Used Hyundai Dealership) in Paducah, KY. No haggle, no fuss. Simple and straightforward. Ask for Robert Walker. 270-444-6901

For context. I traded in my 2002 Subaru Forester w/ manual transmission. Let's just say, Robert did me an immense favor by giving me $500 for it as a rough trade-in. My partner has a 2022 Subaru Outback Touring--non-turbo engine. I also had a 2017 Subaru WRX STI for a couple of years (I don't want to talk about it). So, I have mainly these three vehicles to compare to my Santa Cruz. For size. I am mid-thirties male, 5'11", average build. I'm a tech-savvy engineer. I've only had my SC for 3 days (~210 miles).

I'm a lists kind of guy and these are in no particular order.

Love:
  • The turbo engine is intimidating compared to the Forester. Peppier than the Outback. Reminds me of the STI (305hp) but with significantly faster gear changes and no need for a left foot and right arm to do anything. I haven't punched the SC yet--I want to do a slow break-in and get comfortable with it. I haven't even taken it out of 'SMART' mode yet.
  • The AWD is grippy and makes me feel confident through turns like the Subies.
  • It's very nice to look at.
  • Uh... tonneau cover. I'd never even seen one in real life before.
  • Quiet interior.
  • I love the lane centering feature. It is much more subtle than the Outback but it will command a turn h*******e very confidently.
  • The remote control options through the key fob and phone is absolutely amazing.
  • Infotainment center is wicked fast.
  • Cupholders are perfect fit.
  • Automatic wipers! Say what?!
  • Comfortable ride.
  • The very minimal amount of 'stick on' verbiage on the exterior is nice. The SC words on the tailgate is a perfect touch.