Hyundai Santa Cruz Forum banner

So is it a truck & Plywood capable?

• Yep!

• Why are you doing this to my SAV! I can't get my hands dirty I hire peons for manual labor!

• Why not both?

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since this forum seems to be full of chickens and excuse makers about how "hauling 4x8 plywood is a silly question." I thought I would go ahead and prod the fire a bit, because this is actually a feature that is critically important to me, and I suspect others. And before you all spam me, I am an Architect/Developer/Builder who's job and life touches alot of "REAL MAN WORK WITH TOOLS HAMMERS, LOOK AT ME ARRGG" and alot of real time sensitive emergencies fixing and opening properties. But I also live in a townhouse, like a good drive, and often have to almost be as impressive as a realtor.

Below are the 2 images I've been able to find detailing how hauling a 4x8 sheet is done. One details the molded cut outs, and the other is rendering. Still haven't found a reviewer or owner brave enough to try it and show the world though. Looks pretty good though, I'd guess 30" of overhang past the tailgate? Not sure I would strap it that way. But works. I'd guess you could maybe get 10 sheets of 3/4"? Maybe similar of drwall. But I'd use a 3/4" or 1/2" plywood deck to support the drywall so it doesn't break on that gate edge. Hauling drywall is a PIA. I'd also probably consider tying down to a roof rack for studs longer than 8'. Similar to Kayak hauling. But studs are easier as you can place the vertically and they will not deflect as much.

·
Registered
2022 Sage Grey SC Ultimate
1,131 Posts